Hit and Run Accident Attorney in Shakopee, Minnesota
When you are in an accident in a motor vehicle, Minnesota law requires that you remain at the scene of the accident until police arrive or you exchange insurance information with all parties involved. A person who intentionally leaves the scene of an accident without doing so may be charged with leaving the scene of an accident, or hit and run. If you have been charged with hit and run, or have been contacted by the police department about such an accident, you need to contacted experienced Minnesota hit and run accident attorney Christian Peterson immediately.
Penalties for Hit and Run Accidents
Sentences for a hit and run depend on the amount of damage done during the accident. If an accident results in substantial bodily harm, the matter will be a gross misdemeanor and you could face up to one year in jail and $3000 in fines. If there was great bodily harm, the matter is a felony, the sentence could involve 2 years in prison and a fine of up to $4000. If death results from the accident, then the penality is up to 3 years in prison, and a fine of up to $5000. Depending on the nature of the accident, you could also lose your driver’s license.
If the accident also occurred while you were driving under the influence, then you may also face charges of DWI/DUI.